Maintaining Balance

So I woke up today (after having one of the most stressful weeks of work I have ever had) wanting to get myself back in good mental shape before sitting down and finalizing my packet for Virginia State Teacher of the Year.

I had a dream last night that I was registering and going through the final hour before running a marathon. My body was excited/nervous and I couldn’t sleep. So this morning when I woke up I had to live it out. Here is what ensued.

WOD:

  • Run 2 Miles
  • 10 pullups
  • Diamond Pushups to fail
  • Run 3 miles
  • 10 pullups
  • Diamond Pushups to fail
  • Run 1.5 miles
  • 10 pullups
  • Diamond Pushups to fail

After finishing this workout in 58 minutes (not a great time, but a satisfying workout to say the least). I was lying on my back porch thinking that until today I had completely lost the thing that kept me ahead of the curve.

BALANCE

The past two days in class, to prepare students for their Life paper, I have been performing and reading the story The Mayonnaise Jar and Two Cups of Coffee

The story has reminded me to take care of the ‘golf balls’ and the things that matter most. So I am sure that had something to do with my run! While I lay on my back porch winded from the run, thinking over the golf balls, I remembered Bruce Lee’s explanation of Yin/Yang in his book The Warrior Within.

Lee writes:

   In the Yin/Yang symbol there is a white spot on the black part and a black spot on the white one. This is to illustrate the balance in life, for nothing can survive long by going to either extreme, be it pure Yin (gentleness) or pure Yang (firmness). Notice that the stiffest tree is most easily cracked, while bamboo or willow survive by bending with the wind.

Balance is the key to everything.

Life in every breath.

Leave a Reply

